, , ,

A cactus, a mermaid, a cowboy hat, and la Virgen de Guadalupe all grace the cover of Sofía Reyes’ new album, Mal de Amores. It’s all on purpose. “I am a very maximalist person,” she says. “I accepted that a long time ago.” The dibujos on the cover, created by Mexican graphic designer Perrito, coincide with the wide array of emotions and genres — pop, regional Mexicano, reggaetón, trap, bachata — that Reyes captures on the record.

Reyes explains that she wanted to balance the “childlike” side of her, the colorful “bunch of emotions on the album,” and the maturity she’s gained since her debut record, Louder!, five years ago. “It’s been a beautiful, beautiful journey,” she says.

The 17-track set balances her most viral collaborations — 2018’s bilingual earworm “1, 2, 3” with Jason Derulo and De La Ghetto and 2019’s pop hit “R.I.P” alongside Rita Ora and Anitta — with a handful of more experimental tracks on which she sings solo, such as album closer “Palo Santo.” With such a wide array of sounds, Reyes admits that making Mal de Amores cohesive was the most difficult part of the process. ” ‘How can I make this album sound like it’s one world?’ ” she recalls asking herself. But she’s proud of the outcome: “That was a challenge for me. But I did a good job.”


01 – MUJER
02 – Marte
03 – R.I.P. (feat. Rita Ora & Anitta)
05 – Échalo Pa’ Ca
06 – Pregunta Loca
07 – Casualidad
08 – La Bachata
10 – 1, 2, 3 (feat. Jason Derulo & De La Ghetto)
11 – Amigos
12 – 24/7
13 – Cuando Estás Tú
14 – A Tu Manera [CORBATA]
15 – Limones
16 – Mal de Amores
17 – Palo Santo