, , ,

Positions is the sixth studio album by American singer Ariana Grande, released on October 30, 2020, by Republic Records. The singer worked with a variety of producers on the album, including Tommy Brown, Anthony M. Jones, London on da Track, Murda Beatz, the Rascals, Scott Storch, Shea Taylor and Charles Anderson, accompanied by longtime co-writers Victoria Monét and Tayla Parx.

Positions has Grande primarily discussing themes of sexual intimacy, overcoming heartbreak, and finding love again. The album continues the R&B and trap-pop sound of its predecessors, Sweetener (2018) and Thank U, Next (2019). Guests vocals on the standard edition of the album are contributed by Doja Cat, the Weeknd and Ty Dolla Sign, alongside Megan Thee Stallion on the deluxe edition. Upon release, Positions was met with generally favorable reviews from music critics, many of whom complimented Grande’s vocals as impressive, but criticized the album’s production style and lyricism. The album appeared in many year-end best music lists from publications.

The title track was released as the lead single on October 23, 2020, a week before the album’s launch. With its debut atop the Billboard Hot 100, Grande earned her fifth number-one single in the United States. The song was her third Hot 100 chart-topper in 2020, following her Justin Bieber duet “Stuck With U” and Lady Gaga collaboration “Rain on Me”; it made Grande the only act with five number-one debuts on the chart. All of the 14 tracks of Positions charted simultaneously on the Hot 100, marking Grande’s second consecutive project to do so. The album’s second single, “34+35”, debuted at number eight on the chart, and peaked at number two following the release of its remix with Doja Cat and Megan Thee Stallion. Positions debuted at number one on US Billboard 200 chart, marking Grande’s fifth number-one album in the US. Elsewhere, it reached the top spot in Argentina, Canada, Ireland, Lithuania, New Zealand, Norway and the United Kingdom.

On February 19, 2021, Ariana Grande released ‘Positions’ deluxe edition with five additional tracks.


01 – shut up
02 – 34+35
03 – motive (feat. Doja Cat)
04 – just like magic
05 – off the table (feat. The Weeknd)
06 – six thirty
07 – safety net (feat. Ty Dolla $ign)
08 – my hair
09 – nasty
10 – west side
11 – love language
12 – positions
13 – obvious
14 – pov
15 – someone like u
16 – test drive
17 – 34+35 (feat. Doja Cat & Megan Thee Stallion)
18 – worst behavior
19 – main thing