, , ,

Smile is the sixth studio album by American singer Katy Perry. It is released on August 28, 2020, by Capitol Records, three years after its predecessor Witness (2017). Perry described Smile as her “journey towards the light, with stories of resilience, hope, and love”. The album was preceded by two singles: “Daisies”, the lead single, was released on May 15, 2020, and peaked at number 40 on the Billboard Hot 100; its followup, “Smile”, was released on July 10, 2020. Smile also includes Perry’s 2019 standalone singles “Never Really Over” and “Harleys in Hawaii” in its tracklist.

“Daisies” was released on May 15, 2020 as the album’s lead single. It debuted at number 40 on the US Billboard Hot 100. The title track was released as the second single on July 10, 2020, along with the album pre-order.

Throughout 2019 and 2020, Perry released four solo songs, originally intended to be non-album singles. “Never Really Over”, released on May 31, 2019, was announced to be on Smile by Perry in June 2020. “Harleys in Hawaii”, released on October 16, 2019, was revealed to be on the standard track list upon the release of the album pre-order. “Small Talk”, released August 9, 2019, and “Never Worn White”, released March 5, 2020, did not make the standard track list, but ended up as bonus tracks on the “Fan edition” of the album.

Perry released “What Makes a Woman” as a promotional single ahead of the album on August 20, 2020. She also released an acoustic version exclusively on her Vevo page. In June 2020, she revealed “What Makes a Woman” is dedicated to her unborn daughter, stating: “That is a hope I have for my future child, is that she doesn’t have any limits on any of her dreams, or what she wants to be, or who she thinks she is.”


Smile: Standard Edition:

1. “Never Really Over”
2. “Cry About It Later”
3. “Teary Eyes”
4. “Daisies”
5. “Resilient”
6. “Not the End of the World”
7. “Smile”
8. “Champagne Problems”
9. “Tucked”
10. “Harleys in Hawaii”
11. “Only Love”
12. “What Makes a Woman”

Smile: Fan Edition

13. “Small Talk”
14. “Never Worn White”
15. “Daisies” (acoustic)
16. “Daisies” (Oliver Heldens remix)

Target edition bonus tracks

13. “High On Your Supply”
14. “Track 14” (Voice Memo)

Japanese edition bonus tracks:

13. “Message from Katy”
14. “High On Your Supply”
15. “Small Talk”
16. “Never Worn White”
17. “Daisies” (acoustic)
18. “Daisies” (Oliver Heldens remix)

4½ stars