, , ,

In addition to the physical book, Violet Bent Backwards over the Grass was released as an audiobook on July 28, 2020 through Interscope and Polydor, with the single “LA Who Am I to Love You” available on streaming. The poems are accompanied with music by Jack Antonoff, a frequent collaborator of Del Rey’s and the producer of her 2019 album Norman Fucking Rockwell.

Following the announcement of the book, Del Rey stated her intentions to release a spoken word album. Del Rey said in an Instagram livestream that the album would also be $1 in price and that 50 percent of proceeds would benefit charities supporting Native American land constancy and protecting indigenous rights in the United States, with the charities rotating every couple of years following the release of the record.


1. “LA Who Am I to Love You?”
2. “The Land of 1,000 Fires”
3. “Violet Bent Backwards over the Grass”
4. “Past the Bushes Cypress Thriving”
5. “Salamander”
6. “Never to Heaven”
7. “SportCruiser”
8. “Tessa DiPietro”
9. “Quiet Waiter – Blue Forever”
10. “What Happened When I Left You”
11. “Happy”
12. “My Bedroom Is a Sacred Place Now – There Are Children at the Foot of My Bed”
13. “Paradise Is Very Fragile”
14. “Bare Feet on Linoleum”

4½ stars