, , , , ,

On June 25, 2020, the band changed their name to the Chicks, dropping “Dixie”,which referenced the American Mason–Dixon line, separating the free and slave-owning southern states. The name change followed criticism that the word had connotations of American slavery. The band pointed out that they had picked “that stupid name” as teenagers, and had wanted to change it for years; they said they were moved to change it when they saw the Confederate flag described as “the Dixie Swastika” on social media in June 2020. The band received the blessing of a singing duo of the same name from New Zealand to share the name. Alongside the name change, the Chicks released the protest song “March March” with a music video, in tribute to social justice movements. They also announced that they are now managed by John Silva.

Gaslighter is the eighth studio album by American country music group The Chicks (formerly known as the Dixie Chicks). It was released on July 17, 2020, through Columbia Records. The album’s title track was released as the first single on March 4, 2020, along with its accompanying music video. This is their first album in 14 years, and the first one to be released under their new name.


1. “Gaslighter”
2. “Sleep at Night”
3. “Texas Man”
4. “Everybody Loves You”
5. “For Her”
6. “March March”
7. “My Best Friend’s Weddings”
8. “Tights On My Boat”
9. “Julianna Calm Down”
10. “Young Man”
11. “Hope It’s Something Good”
12. “Set Me Free”

4 stars