, , ,

Turn Down the Sound is the fourth studio album by Canadian singer Nikki Yanofsky, released on July 10, 2020. The album’s lead single, “Forget” was released on January 30, 2020, with a meme music video to accompany it. The video premiered the same day on Billboard’s website. The second single “Nerve” was released on March 20, 2020, after her Together at Home Instagram live concert. The third single “Loner” was released on May 15, 2020.

The album was originally titled Black Sheep, but was changed. In an interview with IHeartRadio Canada, Yanofsky said that Turn Down the Sound was her first choice for the title of the album, but she faced a lot of criticism within her team from choosing the title. She then decided to change it back last minute because it was “true to herself”.

The album’s title track “Turn Down the Sound” and “Bubbles” were written by Yanofsky with her friend Rod Temperton. “Bubbles” was the last song Temperton ever worked on, as it was his last song loaded on his music production software. Temperton nicknamed Yanofsky “Wobbles”, which was why the song was named “Bubbles”.


1. “Loner”
2. “Turn Down the Sound”
3. “Sunshine”
4. “Forget”
5. “Nerve”
6. “High Note”
7. “Throwing Stones”
8. “Black Sheep”
9. “Bubbles”
10. “Owe It All”

3½ stars