, , ,

Vanessa Carlton returns with her first new album in five years with the expansive Love is an Art, a deep dive into the different ways relationships manifest and how we experience them. Carlton writes about both her own experiences as well as observations of love in the world around her. Inspired by the 1956 book “The Art of Loving,” by philosopher Erich Fromm, Carlton extends the concept out to the context of music.


1 I Can’t Stay The Same
2 Companion Star
3 I Know You Don’t Mean It
4 Die, Dinosaur
5 Love Is An Art
6 Future Pain
7 Back To Life
8 Patience
9 The Only Way To Love
10 Salesman
11 Miner’s Canary

3½ stars