, , ,

Changes is the fifth studio album by Canadian singer Justin Bieber. It was released on February 14, 2020, by Def Jam Recordings and RBMG serving as the follow-up to Purpose (2015). The album contains features from Quavo, Post Malone, Clever, Lil Dicky, Travis Scott, Kehlani, and Summer Walker, with production including Adam Messinger, The Audibles, Boi-1da, Harv, Nasri, Poo Bear, Sasha Sirota, Tainy, and Vinylz, as well as Los Angeles Lakers center and 2x NBA Champion JaVale McGee. It is primarily an R&B album, with influences from electro-R&B, pop and trap.

Changes was preceded by two singles: “Yummy” was released as the lead single on January 3, 2020, which debuted and peaked at number two on the Billboard Hot 100. “Intentions” featuring Quavo of the hip-hop trio Migos, was released as the second single on February 7, 2020. On January 28, 2020, “Get Me” featuring American singer Kehlani was released as a promotional single. “Forever” featuring American rappers Post Malone and Clever was released as the third single alongside the album.

For additional promotion of the album, Bieber’s 10-episode docu-series, Justin Bieber: Seasons premiered on January 27, 2020. The series was described as an in-depth look on his musical creation process. On February 8, 2020, Bieber performed his first Saturday Night Live performance in seven years. Changes will also be supported by the Changes Tour.

The album debuted at number one on the Billboard 200, making it Bieber’s seventh US number-one album. However, its first-week sales of 231,000 album-equivalent units was considerably less than the first-week sales of Purpose in the US, which sold 649,000 album-equivalent units. Upon release, Changes was met with mixed reviews from critics, the majority of whom criticized the lyrical content, lack of variation, and emotional maturity, while some were favorable towards Bieber’s vocal performance and the album’s production.


1. “All Around Me”
2. “Habitual”
3. “Come Around Me”
4. “Intentions” (ft. Quavo)
5. “Yummy”
6. “Available”
7. “Forever” (ft. Post Malone & Clever)
8. “Running Over” (ft. Lil Dicky)
9. “Take It Out On Me”
10. “Second Emotion” (ft. Travis Scott)
11. “Get Me” (ft. Kehlani)
12. “ETA”
13. “Changes”
14. “Confirmation”
15. “That’s What Love Is”
16. “At Least For Now”
17. “Yummy (Summer Walker Remix)”

3½ stars