, , ,

Head Above Water is the sixth studio album by Canadian singer Avril Lavigne. It was released on February 15, 2019, through BMG Rights Management. It is Lavigne’s first studio release since her self-titled fifth studio album (2013), marking the longest gap between two of her studio albums. Lavigne assumed an integral role in the album’s production and collaborated with several producers including Stephan Moccio, Chris Baseford, Johan Carlsson, Lauren Christy from The Matrix, Ryan Cabrera, Travis Clark of We the Kings, Bonnie McKee, JR Rotem and Mitch Allan among others.

Head Above Water draws inspiration from Lavigne’s battle with Lyme disease, with her describing the album as an “emotional journey”. “Head Above Water” was released as the lead single from the album in September 2018, followed by “Tell Me It’s Over” as the second single in December and “Dumb Blonde” as the third single the week of the album’s release, a collaboration with rapper Nicki Minaj. The album became her sixth consecutive album to chart in the top 5 of Lavigne’s home country, Canada.


1. Head Above Water

2. Birdie

3. I Fell in Love With the Devil

4. Tell Me It’s Over

5. Dumb Blonde (featuring Nicki Minaj)

6. It Was In Me

7. Souvenir

8. Crush

9. Goddess

10. Bigger Wow

11. Love Me Insane

12. Warrior

4 stars