, , , , ,

Ugly Beauty is the fourteenth studio album by Taiwanese singer Jolin Tsai. It was released on December 26, 2018, by Sony Music Taiwan. Production was done by Tsai with Razor Chiang, Starr Chen, Howe Chen, and OZI, alongside a variety of collaborators including Rhys Fletcher, Richard Craker, Hayley Aitken, Jeff Bova, and Alex Sypes. Musically, it is a pop record which merges a series of genres such as trap, house, reggae, and gothic rock. Thematically, it tends to break through the traditional aesthetic criterion and explore the bipolarity of human feeling.

Ugly Beauty received generally positive reviews from music critics, who called it the leading C-pop music production. The album peaked at number one on the charts in China, Hong Kong, Macau, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, and Taiwan, while reaching the top ten in countries such as Chile, Turkey, and Vietnam. The album became the best-selling digital album by a female artist of 2018 in China, with total sales of more than 220,000 copies as of December 2018.


01. Necessary Evil (惡之必要)
02. Womxnly (玫瑰少年)
03. Ugly Beauty (怪美的)
04. KARMA (你也有今天)
05. Lady In Red (紅衣女孩)
06. Sweet Guilty Pleasure (甜秘密)
07. Romance (愛的羅曼死)
08. Vulnerability (如果我沒有傷口)
09. Hubby (腦公)
10. Life Sucks (消極掰)
11. Shadow Self (你睡醒再看)

4½ stars