, , ,

Swedish singer/songwriter Clara Mae has released her debut EP Sorry For Writing All The Songs About You – available today via Big Beat Records. The 6-track collection was heralded by the release of latest single “Rooftop,” with a stunning Andreas Öhman & Dani Miltenberger-directed video companion (watch here).

Sorry For Writing All The Songs About You features Clara Mae’s recent collaborative single “Better Me Better You” with Jake Miller, which the duo performed on the Elvis Duran Show and MTV’s TRL. The EP also includes breakthrough singles “I’m Not Her” (praised as “a pop anthem” by Culture Collide), “I Forgot” (deemed “the perfect anthem” for running into an ex-flame by Refinery 29) – both of which have amassed over 25 million combined worldwide streams.

After spending years studying jazz vocals and piano in her small town of Gävle, Sweden, Clara Mae garnered attention by co-writing with the likes of David Guetta, Tiesto and Martin Jensen. She soon after co-wrote and featured on KREAM’s “Taped Up Heart,” which boasts over 100 million streams and reached the top 25 on Billboard’s Hot Dance/Electronic Songs chart. “Clara Mae has been putting in work” said Billboard, while Idolator echoed “Sweden consistently churns out some of the best and brightest voices in pop music, and Clara Mae is no exception.”

The conceptual Sorry For Writing All The Songs About You EP, written with longtime collaborator Cassandra Ströberg, unfurls the story of a turbulent relationship. “We were sitting at a coffee shop in Stockholm, and we realized we kept talking about the same doomed relationship,” Clara Mae recalls. “That’s when we came up with the title. We planned out all of the stages of a relationship and it resulted in six very personal songs.”

“The first track ‘Us’ describes the feeling you have in the beginning of a relationship when you first fall for someone, followed by ‘Rooftop’ which describes the feeling of doubt you get when things don’t work out the way you imagined. ‘I’m Not Her’ talks about my worst fear, the person you loved moving on to someone new, then ‘I Forgot’ describes the scenario of running into your ex and feelings resurface (but you’re also reminded of why it ended). ‘Better Me Better You’ is about looking back and trying to beautify the past instead of just appreciating what you have now, and finally the title track ties it all together and explains that writing these songs was something I had to do to move on.”


1. Us

2. Rooftop

3. I’m Not Her

4. I Forgot

5. Better Me Better You (w/ Jake Miller)

6. Sorry For Writing All The Songs About You

4½ stars