, , ,

Grammy award winning singer Estelle, has gone the reggae route, or perhaps the West Indian route for her fifth album – Lovers Rock. Set for release on September 7, the album serves as more than just a recognition of the artiste’s heritage – the album was in honour of her parents, and their tumultuous relationship.

“They’re the whole point of the album,” Estelle told The Gleaner.

The album is made up of much more that it’s title. Pulling from the influence of her father’s Senegalese nationality, and her mother’s Grenadian, then adding her own upbringing in the UK, Estelle has used reggae, soca, afro-beats and dancehall to portray the winding road of her parent’s relationship, from their first meeting, to their separation and ultimate reunion.

“I wanted to chronicle it. I wanted to say that it’s OK to have a fresh start, to live your life in the way you know, and want to, and to do what’s good for you. That’s what they did, and I’m so grateful they did. They’ve given me a new perspective on relationships,” the American Boy singer said.

The title of the album is also reflective of her parents. But she was more concerned about their reaction, than anyone else. “I wanted to call it that, because it is about them. It’s their story, as told through the experiences that I faced. If I didn’t put lover’s rock on it, mom and dad would be like, ‘this ain’t no story!'” Estelle exclaimed.

When it comes to her own personal relationships, her musings helped her realise that she was approaching her own relationships in the way that failed her parents. “After a while, I began realising that in my own life, I was repeating what I knew, though not necessarily on purpose. I ended up doing them and wondering why things were going wrong. I was miserable.”


01 – So Easy (feat. Luke James)
02 – Meet Up (feat. Maleek Berry)
03 – Really Want (feat. Konshens & Nick & Navi)
04 – Better
05 – Don’t Wanna (feat. Kranium)
06 – Queen (feat. Chronixx)
07 – Slow Down (feat. Alicai Harley)
08 – Ain’t Yo Bitch
09 – Sweetly
10 – Karma (feat. HoodCelebrityy)
11 – Lights Out
12 – Love Like Ours (feat. Tarrus Riley)
13 – One More Time
14 – Good For Us

3½ stars