, ,

Life Love Flesh Blood is the fifth studio album recorded by Irish singer Imelda May. It was released on 7 April 2017, through Decca Records, as a follow-up to Tribal (2014). May collaborated with American musician T Bone Burnett on the record, who was the sole producer on the album. Throughout the creative process, May received guidance from U2 vocalist Bono. The album followed May’s divorce from guitarist Darrel Higham, which influenced many of the lyrical themes featured on the record. Life Love Flesh Blood features soft rock and acoustic styles, which differed significantly from her previous rockabilly genre.

Commercially, the album peaked at number two on the Irish Albums Chart (IRMA), prevented from reaching number one by Ed Sheeran’s album ÷. Three singles have been released from the album: “Call Me”, “Black Tears”, and “Should’ve Been You”. The album also features guest appearances by pianist Jools Holland and guitarist Jeff Beck. May is scheduled to embark on an international tour in May 2017, in support of the album.


01. Call Me
02. Black Tears (feat. Jeff Beck)
03. Should’ve Been You
04. Sixth Sense
05. Human
06. How Bad Can a Good Girl Be
07. Bad Habit
08. Levitate
09. When It’s My Time (feat. Jools Holland)
10. Leave Me Lonely
11. The Girl I Used To Be
12. The Longing
13. Flesh and Blood
14. Game Changer
15. Love and Fear

4 stars

Buy The Original Support the Artist