, ,

The new album “Mermaid Blues” by Y’akoto is here!

 Inspired by the life stories of Muhammad Ali and Mexican painter Frida Kahlo. People who, despite great oppositions, were not afraid to voice their own opinions and ideas. The new album Mermaid Blues is set to hit stores on the 31st of March 2017 and is the follow up for Y’akoto’s sophomore album “Moody Blues” which was released in 2014.

Y’akoto, daughter of a Ghanaian father and a German mother has grown, not only musically, but also as a person. “I focus on those who get me”, says Y’akoto. “Make no mistake: sincere artistic expression is difficult, challenging and exhausting, no matter the approach you choose. That’s soul.”

Alternating between blues, neo-soul and ambient pop, the new album Mermaid Blues is more than just music. It’s an attitude about life, the defiant force behind Y’akoto’s “soul seeking music”.

In the melancholic piano ballad “Fool Me Once”, Y’akoto bewails the painful holding-on to a bygone love. Yet she knows that she will go have to go her own way: “We walk the line from point to point/ and if we’ll fall, we will fly…”, she sings in “We Walk The Line”. It is only befitting that her musician-dad – “he’s the best lyricist and singer in the world” – helped her out on the bridge with this song. Whenever she’s at her wits’ end in the studio, she calls him – it’s just so much more helpful than listening to some random MP3’s, she says. Y’akoto delivers soulful music.


01 – Fool Me Once
02 – Take Him Back
03 – All I Want (Comme Ci, Comme Ca)
04 – Love Me Harder
05 – Maggie
06 – Reception
07 – We Walk The Line
08 – Drink My Friend
09 – Who I Am
10 – Sunday
11 – King Of The Dark

3½ stars

Buy The Original Support the Artist