, ,

Sjung is the fourth studio album by the Swedish singer-songwriter Laleh, released on January 25, 2012. Produced by Laleh herself, the album was released on Warner Music Sweden and Lost Army. Sjung is her first long play for four years since the January 2009 album Me and Simon. The album is produced, written, recorded, engineered and performed by Laleh.

 The album’s lyrical theme centres on new environments and being an outsider, with elements of African drums and synthpop being incorporated into Laleh’s sound for the first time. The physical release of the album contains a second disc which features her interpretations from “Så mycket bättre”. All of these interpretations were also released as a digital download only extended play preceding the album on 25 December 2011 called Tolkningarna (Interpretations). Critics’ opinions of the album were generally favourable although some were divided on the slightly new direction taken and the unevenness of the record. In its first week of release, the album entered the Swedish Albums Chart at number one, becoming her second album to peak at the top, and her first to debut at number one. It was at the top of the charts for four non-consecutive weeks and was certified platinum in March 2012. It also became her first-charting album in Norway, where it debuted at number eight and peaked at number one.

 The first single from the album was “Some Die Young”, which was released in Sweden on 22 January.  “Vårens Första Dag” was released as the album’s second single on 30 April 2012. “What You Want” was originally due to be released as the album’s third single, but was scrapped in favour of “Elephant”, which was sent out to radio in early 2013. In July 2013 it was announced that Laleh would release her first international album in Germany during the autumn. The first single from this release will be “Some Die Young”.


1 – Elephant
2 – Some Die Young
3 – Who Started It
4 – Interlude
5 – Samuel
6 – Better Life
7 – What You Want
8 – In the Comet
9 – Vårens Första Dag
10 – Du Följer Med Mig
11 – Sjung

3½ stars

Buy The Original Support the Artist