, , ,

Version of Me is the seventh studio album by English recording artist Melanie C. It was released on 21 October 2016, by Red Girl Records. “Anymore” was released as the album’s lead single on 6 September 2016.

Melanie C started recording the album in 2013, and it was not her only focus at the time. She elaborated,

“Because in the past, I’ve gone “Right. It’s album time” with back-to-back writing sessions. But, with this record, I had other stuff going on. And actually, I think it’s really benefited the record because I never got stale, you know? It just felt like life kept on happening and all of these scenarios kept coming up, and it was really inspiring. I didn’t feel like I was repeating myself because I was just taking my time, so that was really cool. One of the songs on the album, as you know, is “Version of Me,” and I thought this is a really good album title. Each record has been me at that moment in time, and this is really an expression of what’s going on in my life in the last five years. So, that felt really good. I also like the thought that we all do this, we all have versions of ourselves. We’re very different speaking to our friends than to our boss, or when we’re in school with a teacher. We are this person, but there’s so many versions of us”.


 01. Dear Life
02. Escalator
03. Anymore
04. Something For the Fire
05. Version of Me
06. Numb
07. Room For Love
08. Unravelling
09. Loving You Better
10. Our History
11. Blame

4½ stars

Buy The Original Support the Artist